Toms River

All about trout fishing in the great Garden State!
NJpatbee

Toms River

Post by NJpatbee » Tue Sep 04, 2018 8:03 pm

After 43 years in Sussex County I am now a resident of Barnegat in Ocean County. Although I will still frequent my NW Jersey favorites, this site used to have a fair amount of Toms River enthusiasts. What is the latest and is it worth heading out to the Toms when I cannot travel North?

46er

Re: Toms River

Post by 46er » Tue Sep 04, 2018 10:10 pm

Welcome to Ocean County. The Toms is always worth a trip, just be careful of the holes if wading and bring a pair of pruning shears for the brambles ;) Easiest place to start is the Riverwood Park parking lot and walk to the river, downstream a piece if your interested in the TCA. You also have the salt, great time of year is starting there.
aka; Ralph

The irony of the Human condition is that we are so focused on reaching some point in our journey, some happiness, or some goal, that we seem to forget that the journey itself is where life happens.

NJpatbee

Post by NJpatbee » Wed Sep 05, 2018 7:16 am

Thanks for the info!

Rusty Spinner

Post by Rusty Spinner » Wed Sep 05, 2018 8:53 am

NJpatbee wrote:
Tue Sep 04, 2018 8:03 pm
After 43 years in Sussex County I am now a resident of Barnegat in Ocean County. Although I will still frequent my NW Jersey favorites, this site used to have a fair amount of Toms River enthusiasts. What is the latest and is it worth heading out to the Toms when I cannot travel North?
Best of luck in your new life downtheshore, Pat! The Toms is not like any other river you've likely fished in NJ or elsewhere. At least that was my finding when I fished it twice over the years, both times in the TCA.
"A sinking fly is closer to Hell" - Unknown

Johnw

Post by Johnw » Wed Sep 05, 2018 10:48 am