Casting lesson

All about trout fishing in the great Garden State!
dinomoso

Casting lesson

Post by dinomoso » Tue May 01, 2018 8:41 am

I am new to fly fishing and would like to take a casting lesson. Any recommendations, I'm in Morris county.

Rusty Spinner

Re: Casting lesson

Post by Rusty Spinner » Tue May 01, 2018 8:48 am

Book a half day guided trip through Shannon's Fly & Tackle Shop in Califon. The guides will spend 4 hours getting your casting and drifts down so that you can get out on your own and find success. Best $130 you will ever spend.

Many of our Trout Unlimited chapters hold intro to fly fishing classes, but most are over by now, I think. Check out the Hacklebarney TU chapter, as they might still have a class available and they are in Morris County (Whippany). They take their anglers to the Musky to fish.
"A sinking fly is closer to Hell" - Unknown

Jerzguy21

Post by Jerzguy21 » Tue May 01, 2018 9:37 am

Or, go out on your lawn and practice like everyone did in the old days !!

Rusty Spinner

Post by Rusty Spinner » Tue May 01, 2018 9:56 am

Jerzguy21 wrote:
Tue May 01, 2018 9:37 am
Or, go out on your lawn and practice like everyone did in the old days !!
Which is exactly where I learned all of my bad habits! :D

Save yourself a lot of aggravation and have someone skilled show you. It could be a friend, a guide, or a TU group, but don't just flail around or you will likely learn lots of bad habits and never learn how to properly load a fly rod which is where the basis of all casting begins.
"A sinking fly is closer to Hell" - Unknown

MikeB

Post by MikeB » Tue May 01, 2018 11:09 am

I am less than an hour from there, going to go to the shop and talk to them. An instructional lesson is KEY! Thanks all.

lightenup

Post by lightenup » Tue May 01, 2018 1:00 pm