Recommend some flies

All about trout fishing in the great Garden State!
dinomoso

Recommend some flies

Post by dinomoso » Mon May 14, 2018 10:32 am

I'm a beginner at fly fishing, took a casting lesson last week and i'm ready to hit the water. I will be fishing the Rockaway river in
Rockaway,Denville,and Wharton areas. Any suggestions on some flies I should throw, and in what size and color.

Jaybird

Re: Recommend some flies

Post by Jaybird » Mon May 14, 2018 11:01 am

Endless list of flies and what anybody recommends is right .
A basic list would be for this time of year .
Hare's ears , pheasant tails ,and scuds for nymphs
Adams , elk hair caddis , rusty spinners and sulpher dries
Woolly buggers in a few colors read thread below streamers .
The longer you flyfish you get interested in the entomology and the way bugs cycle through the river and the ways trout react to them along with your own confidence in patterns and style .

BiggerThomas
Location: Whenever somebody's looking to be free...look in their eyes--you'll see me.

Post by BiggerThomas » Mon May 14, 2018 11:24 am

Jaybird wrote:
Mon May 14, 2018 11:01 am
Endless list of flies and what anybody recommends is right .
A basic list would be for this time of year .
Hare's ears , pheasant tails ,and scuds for nymphs
Adams , elk hair caddis , rusty spinners and sulpher dries
Woolly buggers in a few colors read thread below streamers .
The longer you flyfish you get interested in the entomology and the way bugs cycle through the river and the ways trout react to them along with your own confidence in patterns and style .
Great list. You'll want those in sizes 12-16 (just fyi, the smaller the number, the larger the hook).

Good luck!

BT
"Most anglers spend their lives in making rules for trout, and trout spend theirs in breaking them."

-From Letters to Young Fly-Fishers, (1926) Sir George Aston,

dinomoso

Post by dinomoso » Mon May 14, 2018 11:25 am